

Tamil Nadu Agricultural University Coimbatore – 641 003

Dr. E. Somasundaram Ph.D., Public Relations Officer

Mobile: 94890 56730

Phone: 0422 - 6611302

Fax: 0422 – 2431821 E-mail: pro@tnau.ac.in

To Date: 15-10-2016

The Editor,

Sir,

I request that the following matter may kindly be published in your esteemed daily:

37th Convocation held at TNAU

The 37th Convocation was held on 15-10-2016 at the University Convocation Hall. His Excellency the Tamil Nadu Governor Shri. CH. Vidyasagar Rao presided over the Convocation. The programme started with the welcome address by Dr. K. Ramasamy, Vice-Chancellor, TNAU, Coimbatore. He welcomed the Dignitaries on and off the Dias, University Board Members, Academic Council Members, Chief Guests, Honorary degree awardees, University Staff, all the Graduants, parents and Media persons.

The honorable Chancellor of TNAU, His Excellency the Governor declared the Convocation open and invited the Chief Guest Dr. G.N. Magesan, Vice-Chancellor, Institute of Advanced Research, Gandhinagar, Gujarat and presented the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science to Dr. Harsh Kumar Bhanwala, Chairman, NABARD, Mumbai and Dr. Digvir S. Jayas, Vice-President, Research and International University of Manitoba, Canada.

Dr. Harsh Kumar Bhanwala and Dr. Digvir S. Jayas in their speech thanked Tamil Nadu Agricultural University for honouring the Doctor of Science Degree and shared their experience regarding collaboration with TNAU, NABARD and University of Manitoba, Canada in the field of research and outreach activities.

Dr.G.N. Magesan in his speech shared his views in the field of Soil Health Management and Organic farming that will help in boosting the farming community.

The Chancellor His Excellency the Governor of Tamil Nadu conferred the Degrees to all the candidates of Ph.D. Post Graduate and Under Graduate and he also presented the Prizes and Medals to the top rankers in Ph.D., PG and UG. The Chancellor then read the Pledge and signed the Register of Graduates. The number of graduates who have been conferred with the Degree were presented by the respective Deans (Agriculture, Horticulture, Agrl. Engineering, Forestry and Home Science).

The Pro-Chancellor and Minister of Agriculture Th. R. Doraikkannu address and announced the Endowment Prizes and Medals for the forthcoming academic years. The lists of prizes are:

- 1. The World Soil year 2015 Memorable Award
- 2. Dr. Nanja Ajjan Award
- 3. Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam Award
- 4. Dr. S. Neelakandan Award
- 5. Professor S. Sundararajan Award
- 6. Smart Killies Award
- 7. Red fort Charitable Trust Award
- 8. Thiruthani Kanda Samy Deva Sundaram Award

About 1869 Graduates received their Degrees and 51 graduates were the Award winners. The University Staff Members, Parents, Media Persons participated and graced the function.

Public Relations Officer